
 

 

Lateral Transfer Opportunities 

In-State Candidates 

Responsibilities: 
Serving and protecting the community by performing crime prevention, criminal investigations, and law 
enforcement activities. 

Job Title: Police Officer (Lateral Transfer) 
Salary: $31.27 - $49.28 Hourly 
Job Type: Full-time 
Location: Varies by position 
Department: 30 Dept. of Public Safety - Police Officer 
*Out of state applicants with less than five years (5) begin at $31.27. Applicants with more than five years 
(5+) begin at $41.18 hourly. 

Minimum Qualifications: 
Possession of a high school diploma or a certificate of high school equivalence (GED). 
At least twenty (20) years of age when applying, and at least twenty-one (21) years of age at the time of 
being sworn-in. 
Possession of a valid motor vehicle operator’s license at time of hire (appointment). 
A citizen of the United States of America. 
Patrol service of one (1) year Basic Peace Officer Training Commission (OPOTC) utilization. 

Special Notes: 
Police Officers must successfully pass the Division’s Basic Peace Officer Training Academy and Ohio 
Peace Officer Training Commission (OPOTC) final exam. 
Out of state applicants will participate in a sixteen week academy in take process. 
The probationary period shall conclude three hundred sixty-five (365) days after being sworn. 
For those candidates passing the application review step, the hiring process will include one or more 
interviews, a criminal background check, and a pre-employment drug test. For any position within the 
Division of Police, the hiring process will also include the completion of an extensive personal history 
questionnaire and a polygraph examination. The selection process can take as little as 3 weeks and up to 
3 months. 

 
Out-of-State Candidates 

Responsibilities: 
Serving and protecting the community by performing crime prevention, criminal investigations, and law 
enforcement activities. 

Job Title: Police Officer (Lateral Transfer) 
Salary: $31.27 - $49.28 Hourly 
Job Type: Full-time 
Location: Varies by position 
Department: 30 Dept. of Public Safety - Police Officer 



*Out of state applicants with less than five years (5) begin at $31.27. Applicants with more than five years 
(5+) begin at $41.18 hourly. 

Minimum Qualifications: 

Possession of a high school diploma or a certificate of high school equivalence (GED). 
At least twenty (20) years of age when applying, and at least twenty-one (21) years of age at the time of 
being sworn-in. 
Possession of a valid motor vehicle operator’s license at time of hire (appointment). 
A citizen of the United States of America. 

Special Notes: 

Police Officers must successfully pass the Division’s Basic Peace Officer Training Academy and Ohio 
Peace Officer Training Commission (OPOTC) final exam. 
Out of state applicants will participate in a sixteen week academy in take process. 
The probationary period shall conclude three hundred sixty-five (365) days after being sworn. 
For those candidates passing the application review step, the hiring process will include one or more 
interviews, a criminal background check, and a pre-employment drug test. For any position within the 
Division of Police, the hiring process will also include the completion of an extensive personal history 
questionnaire and a polygraph examination. The selection process can take as little as 3 weeks and up to 
3 months. 

 


