DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY VEHICLE FOR HIRE

WHEELCHAIR/SPECIALTY TAXICABS RULES AND REGULATIONS

- 1. All owner applicants for a license to operate a Vehicle for Hire defined as a Wheelchair/Specialty Taxicab shall submit an Ohio Medical Transportation Board or successor agency Ambulette License and shall provide adequate documentation that the vehicle and each driver has met the training and qualifications required by the Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 4766-3 or successor agency at the time of application to the License Section.
- 2. Owners/Operators of such taxicabs shall provide 24/7 dispatch service to the riding public.
- 3. Owners/Operators of such taxicabs shall provide priority service to passengers requesting Wheelchair/Specialty taxicab service.
- 4. No Wheelchair/ Specialty Taxicab License will be issued to any vehicle;
 - a. That is older than 6 years as determined by the Vehicle Identification Number.
 - b. With over 200,000 miles.
 - c. Vehicle titled with Mileage Discrepancy.
 - d. Vehicle titled as Rebuilt Salvage.
- 5. All owners of taxicabs licensed as Wheelchair/Specialty Taxicabs and drivers of such taxicabs shall comply with all existing Columbus City Codes and the Vehicle for Hire Rules and Regulation pertaining to taxicab owners/taxicab drivers.
- 6. All taxicabs licensed as Wheelchair/Specialty Taxicabs shall be required to accept debit/credit cards as fare payment and shall maintain the appropriate device for processing such payments within the taxicab.
 - a. The credit card machine must be located in the back seat area.
- 7. Owners/Operators must submit trip sheets quarterly to the License Section or at any time ordered by the License Section.
- 8. Thirty (30) wheelchair/specialty taxicab licenses will be issued.
 - a. Yellow Cab shall receive ten (10) Wheelchair/Specialty Taxicab Licenses
 - b. Acme Taxi shall receive five(5) Wheelchair/Specialty Taxicab Licenses
 - c. Ten (10) Wheelchair/Specialty Taxicab Licenses will be issued to independent owners via a lottery system.
 - d. Five (5) Wheelchair/Specialty Taxicab Licenses will be issued to non-taxicab owners via a lottery system.
- 9. Process for issuing Wheelchair/Specialty Taxicab Licenses for independents
 - a. 50 registrations will be accepted for ten (10) independent owners licenses
 - b. 20 registrations will be accepted for five (5) non-owners licenses
 - c. Within 30 days of lottery, winners must show proof of purchase of Ambulette vehicle
 - d. Within 60 days of lottery, winners must show proof of 2 qualified drivers for each vehicle
 - e. Lottery winners shall have 6 months to license vehicle.
 - f. Progress reports due every 30 days until inspection
 - g. All drivers must meet the requirements set forth by the Ohio Medical Transportation Board Administrative Code Chapter 4766-3 or successor agency, Columbus City Codes and the Vehicle for Hire Rules and Regulations and shall be licensed as a wheelchair/specialty taxicab driver by the City.
- 10. New BCI criminal backgrounds shall be required of all owners and drivers.

- 11. Wheelchair/Specialty Taxicab License shall not be transferable.
- 12. The owner of the wheelchair/specialty license shall notify the License Section immediately upon expiration of the Ambulette license and of any suspensions, revocations, or investigations by the Ohio Medical Transportation Board or successor agency.

Published: March 09, 2013 Effective: March 24, 2013